September 13, 2011 — The Arthur W. Page Society has selected Margery Kraus, founder and CEO of APCO Worldwide, as the recipient of the 2011 Hall of Fame Award. A trustee of the Arthur W. Page Society, she founded APCO in 1984 and in that time has helped it grow into an agency with $113 million in annual revenue, more than 600 employees, and 30 offices around the world.

“Margery exemplifies the entrepreneurial spirit of the public relations industry,” said Bill Margaritis, chairman of the Arthur W. Page Society. “She is a true trailblazer. It’s a pleasure to honor such an inspiring thought leader.”

The Hall of Fame Award is the Page Society's highest recognition. Inductees into the Hall of Fame are acclaimed industry leaders; senior communications executives widely recognized for outstanding career achievement, advancement of the profession, and a strong commitment to the Page Principles.

In September 2004, Kraus led a management buyout of her firm, making APCO one of the largest independent, majority employee-owned communications and public affairs firms in the world. She has also helped to make APCO a thought leader in the areas of international PR and public affairs. APCO’s International Advisory Council and Global Political Strategies groups bring together more than 60 of the world’s most experienced global leaders, including former politicians, diplomats, business and industry executives, journalists, and academics.

Prior to founding APCO, Kraus helped to create and develop the Close Up Foundation, a multi-million educational foundation, where she still serves on the board of directors.

Kraus’ achievements have been recognized through a number of prestigious awards, including receiving the Institute for Public Relations’ Alexander Hamilton Medal for lifetime contributions to professional public relations (2010); being named to the Washington Business Hall of Fame (2009) and the Enterprising Women Hall of Fame (2009); and being awarded the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Award in the Services category in Greater Washington (2006), Washington PR Woman of the Year (2006), Lifetime Achievement (PR News, 2005), PR Professional of the Year (PRWeek, 2005), and Best Entrepreneur-Service Businesses-up to 2,500 employees (Stevie Awards for Women Entrepreneurs,

2005) among others. Kraus was also named one of 25 in the “PR Power List” (PRWeek, 2009), one of 25 “Top Women Business Builders” (Fast Company, 2005), one of 50 Most Powerful Women in PR (PRWeek, 1998) and one of 50 “Women Who Mean Business” (Washington Business Journal, 2004).

Kraus was honored with the Hall of Fame Award at the Arthur W. Page Society’s 28th Annual Conference, “Chief Communication Officers at the Center of Change," being held in Washington, DC, September 11-13, 2011. For more information, please visit

Previous Hall of Fame Award winners include:

Copies of remarks delivered by the award winners are available on the Page Society Web site on the Insights and Research section.

About the Hall of Fame Award

The Hall of Fame Award is the Arthur W. Page Society’s highest recognition, honoring men and women whose esteemed careers have taken them to the summit of the public relations field. This award was created to honor someone who either had a significant career in the corporate world or who has done something significant that aided those who practiced in the corporate discipline. Their accomplishments include major contributions to the profession, a strong commitment to the Page Principles and a career filled with recognition by their peers.

About the Arthur W. Page Society

The Arthur W. Page Society is a professional association for senior public relations and corporate communications executives who seek to enrich and strengthen their profession. Membership consists primarily of chief communications officers of Fortune 500 corporations, the CEOs of the world's largest public relations agencies, and leading academics from the nation's top business and communications schools. The Page Society is dedicated to strengthening the management policy role of chief public relations officers. For more information please visit  

For more information contact:
Anuneha S. Mewawalla
Erica Iacono