Case Title: Cracking Open A Case

Submitted by: Lexi Esterle

School: Ball State University

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elina Erzikova

After a partnership with transgender influencer Dylan Mulvaney, Anheuser-Busch faced a boycott and negative consumer sentiment towards Bud Light. Anheuser-Busch had to contend with two groups of
consumers with opposing viewpoints. This case study examined how Anheuser-Busch managed competing expectations for its stance on transgender rights. The case also investigated how Anheuser-Busch’s response impacted the company’s market share and financial standing. This case demonstrates engaging in brand activism can evoke various responses. It also provides insight for brands facing this dilemma: how will choices around brand activism impact the consumer sentiment of a company's customer base?

Note: Teaching notes will be made available to faculty upon request.

2024 Student Case Study Competition

Page, in alliance with the Institute for Public Relations, conducts an annual competition for the writing of original case studies by students enrolled in a school of business, communication or journalism and who are pursuing a degree that is focused on corporate communications and the practice of public relations. The objectives of the competition are to introduce practical applications of the core principles that define corporate communication as a critical function of management to educators, teachers and students, and encourage research that contributes to the profession's body of knowledge and provide practical suggestions for improving the corporate communications function. Student authors of winning entries and their faculty advisors are awarded cash prizes and recognized by the nation's leading corporate communications executives.

For questions, please email


The grand prize winner receives the Jack Koten Case Study Award, named in honor of John A. "Jack" Koten, one of the founding members of the Arthur W. Page Society and its first president. The winning students are invited to the annual Awards Ceremony held each year at the Page Society's Spring Seminar in New York.