

### **2023 DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD NOMINATION FORM**

**Nominations must be received by April 24**. For questions, or to submit a completed nomination, please email Kelly Greene, <u>kgreene@page.org</u>.

#### A. Basic Information

Nominee Name	
Nominee's Current Affiliation	
Nominee's Email	

Nominator's N	lame		
Nominator's A	ffiliatio	on	
Nominator's E	mail		

### B. Criteria

The Distinguished Service Award honors individuals for service to the profession by giving selflessly of their time and talents to advance the role of corporate communications and public relations in business and society. They are leaders whose counsel others seek and who have advanced the Page Principles and shaped our profession, honed its ethics and practices, and increased its influence.

Examples of service that might qualify:

- Teaching, strengthening curricula, and advising or mentoring students and young professionals.
- Research and the publication of articles or books that strengthen the professionalism of public relations, or point the way to new, creative approaches.
- Leadership in and service to industry organizations like Page, the Institute for Public Relations, The Seminar and others.

C. Please respond to the following questions to explain how the nominee is deserving of this award. (If you need additional space, please attach a document that answers these questions in as much detail as you like.)

What is your relationship with the nominee? Have you worked with her or him?

What is the primary role (or roles) that the nominee held when achieving the accomplishments that you have in mind in making this nomination?

To whom does (or did) the nominee report in her or his primary role (or roles) for which s/he is being nominated?

How did the nominee provide service to the profession by giving selflessly of her or his time and talents to advance the role of corporate communications and public relations in business and society? (Please explain and cite examples.) Are there any specific moments or experiences you can share that illustrate the nominee practicing or advancing the <u>Page Principles</u>? Y/N. (If yes please explain.)

Has the nominee made any major contributions to the profession through teaching or strengthening curricula? Y/N. (If yes please explain.)

Has the nominee made any major contributions to the profession through research and the publication of articles or books that strengthen the professionalism of public relations or point the way to new creative approaches? Y/N. (If yes please explain.) Has the nominee made any major contributions to the profession through advising or mentoring students and young professionals? Y/N. (If yes, please explain.)

Has the nominee made any major contributions to the profession through leadership in or service to professional industry organizations like Page, the Institute for Public Relations, The Seminar or others? Y/N. (If yes, please explain.)

Has the nominee been recognized by peers as an influential leader and/or received other major professional awards and honors? Y/N. (If yes, please explain.)

Has the nominee held any significant leadership roles in major community organizations? Y/N. (If yes, please explain.)

# D. Please feel free to attach a summary or any additional testimonials from supporters of the nomination.

### E. Frequently asked questions:

- Must the nominee be a Page member? No. You may nominate anyone who meets the criteria and is deserving of the award.
- Does the candidate need to currently be serving in the same role for which that individual is nominated?
  No. The Distinguished service award may be present to retired professionals or even posthumously.
- At what point do you measure an individual's career? Many previous inductees had completed their careers, but others still were quite active.

## Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2022: Shelley Spector 2021: Rochelle Ford 2019: Bob Feldman 2018: Sandra Macleod 2017: James Scofield O'Rourke IV 2016: Aedhmar Hynes 2015: Frank Ovaitt 2014: John Onoda 2013: Maril MacDonald 2012: Kim Hunter 2011: Tom Martin 2010: Peter Debreceny 2009: E. Bruce Harrison 2008: James Grunig 2007: Donald Wright 2006: Ron Culp 2004: John Reed 2003: Ann Barkelew 2002: John (Jack) Felton 2001: Patrick Jackson 2000: Betsy Plank